Bell Witch - Future’s Shadow Part 1: The Clandestine Gate 2XLP


Bell Witch - Future’s Shadow Part 1: The Clandestine Gate  2XLP ***PRE ORDER***


Profound Lore Records 2023

Pacific Northwestern doom metal monolith BELL WITCH will see the release of their new album “Future’s Shadow Part 1: The Clandestine Gate” on April 21st digitally followed by its physical release on 2LP/2CD/Cassette, June 9.  Pre-orders, along with a short-making of video of the album are now live (link in bio).  As well, the band have announced a surprise appearance at this year’s Roadburn Festival on April 20th where they will perform “The Clandestine Gate” in its entirety.

For their new album, bassist/vocalist Dylan Desmond and drummer/vocalist Jesse Shreibman exploded Bell Witch's bounds. Like 2017's lauded “Mirror Reaper”, “The Clandestine Gate” is a single 83-minute track -- a composition that pulses and breathes on a filmic timeframe. It constitutes the first chapter in a planned triptych of longform albums, collectively called “Future's Shadow.”

While traces of organ and synthesizer hovered over “Mirror Reaper” and Bell Witch's 2020 collaboration with Aerial Ruin, “Stygian Bough Volume 1”, “The Clandestine Gate” drew those instruments closer to the center of its compositions.  The band reunited with their longtime producer Billy Anderson as they began negotiating these new compositional weights.  On “The Clandestine Gate”, Bell Witch's twinned voices build off of the chantlike textures of previous records while steering toward more developed melodic lines, structured harmonies, and rhythmic death metal growls.

The immense gravity of a work like “The Clandestine Gate”, which features exclusive stunning cover art by Jordi Diaz Alama, allows ideas to simmer in a way that feels profoundly and somatically intuitive -- not just a philosophical exercise, but an embodied truth. By slowing down both their creative process and the tempo of the music itself, Bell Witch digs even deeper into their long standing focus: the way life spills on inside its minuscule container, both eternal and fleeting, a chord that echoes without resolution.

Track Listing: 1. The Clandestine Gate