Fake Names – Fake Names LP


Fake Names – Fake Names LP


Epitaph 2020

Over a year ago, Fake Names — the new band fronted by Refused vocalist Dennis Lyxzén that also features Brian Baker (Minor Threat, Dag Nasty, Bad Religion), Michael Hampton (S.O.A., Embrace, One Last Wish) and Johnny Temple (Girls Against Boys, Soulside). Now, they’ve announced their debut album (self-titled LP, due May 8 via Epitaph), and released their first studio recording, “Brick.” We caught that live show and at the time we said that, of all their related bands, Fake Names sounded closest to the proto-emocore of Dag Nasty and Embrace, and that’s kind of still true on “Brick,” but the song’s got big, clean production that makes it sound a lot more modern than those bands.
Here’s a little more background on how the band formed, via press release:
Fake Names first came to form in early 2016 when Brian Baker and Michael Hampton met up at Hampton’s Brooklyn home to play music together, with no intentions beyond possibly writing a song or two. Friends since first grade, the two guitarists ended up writing a handful of songs that day, and then closed out the session with a spontaneous decision to start a band. When it came to finding a bassist, Baker and Hampton looked to Johnny Temple, a fellow classmate from their elementary school. Later that year at Chicago’s Riot Fest, both Baker and Temple were struck with the sudden inspiration to recruit Refused frontman Dennis Lyxzén as their singer.
On their self-titled debut, Fake Names bring their collective history to a 28-minute burst of unbridled energy. Co-produced by Hampton and Geoff Sanoff and recorded at Renegade Studios (a New York City facility owned by Little Steven Van Zandt), the album augments their bare-bones breed of punk with a heavy dose of power-pop, cleanly manifested in the band’s bittersweet melodies and abundant backup harmonies.

-Brooklyn Vegan


Related Products